1. What is Google Apps for UTM? What can I do with it?
- Google Apps for UTM provides staffs a suite of online tools for collaboration and communication, for use in confidential teaching, learning and research. With it, you can collaborate on word-processing and spreadsheet documents, conduct live online chats with members of the Harvard community, create simple websites, and more.
2. Who can use Google Apps for UTM?
- Google Apps for UTM is available to UTM staff only.
3. How reliable are GoogleApps?
- Google Apps offers a 99.9% service level agreement (SLA) for covered services, and in recent years they are exceeded this promise.
4. I already use Google Apps for my personal email and calendar. Are we getting
the same applications?
- They are similar, but we’ll be using the business-class edition of Google Apps, which provides more features, more support, and an “up-time” guarantee.
5. How can I access my account?
- You can access your account at mail.utm.my.
6. Will my email address change?
- No, your email address won’t change! You’ll continue to receive all your email at your current address.
7. Will I able to access my previous mail in Desknow after switching to Gmail?
- Yes, Desknow system can be used as a secondary and backup email for UTM. All the new email will be accessible in Gmail, and emails before 27th June 2015 can still be accessed at Desknow (please go to mel.utm.my).
8. Can Gmail be accessed all over the world?
- No, certain countries don’t allow Google services, such as China, Cuba, Iran, Crimea Republic, North Korea, Sudan and Syria. You need to inform our IT staff to activate your Desknow as a primary email service.
9. Do I need to do anything after I get my Google Apps account?
- You’ll just need to complete a few simple tasks to complete your migration, such as recreating any email rules you used in Desknow and setting up your mobile device.
10. Will you provide assistance during the transition?
- To get you up to speed quickly, we’ll provide plenty of documentation and training resources. Members of the IT team will also be available to answer your questions or resolve any issues you encounter.
11. What happens to my account and content if I leave the University?
- Your account will be in a ‘suspended’ state and all of the content you shared will remian available to those whom you have collaborated with. We think you’ll enjoy your new Google Apps services, and we’re committed to making this a smooth transition. More information to follow soon!